Blue Moon Wins – Autumn Series 2016


Richard Robarts and his team sailing Blue Moon managed to keep sufficient time on Crazy Suzy on a windward leeward course on Sunday to come out as winners of the 2016 Autumn Series. John Littlewoods crew fought hard and finished 2nd in the series but in this last race Brian Pearce sailing Monkey Business managed to squeeze ahead on corrected time by less than a minute.

The first year team on Monkey Business were looking over their transom shortly after the start as they needed to pull away from their closest competitors on Ned Kelly. Jane Allison and Lana Clarke, the only two regular Ned Kelly sailors onboard were joined by previous owner Dave Onyons who agreed to assist just before going afloat. Unfortunately they got stuck in the mud 2mins before the gun which put an end to their challenge in what has otherwise been a fantastic season. McGregor III with a crew of new sailors and potential members finished the series in 5th position.

The series, of 6 races which included Barts Bash and the BJRC team race ended with 5 cruisers finishing the series and the ‘no discard, double points race’.

The full results can be seen here.


About Author

Leave A Reply